Skip to content

Austin, TX

January 8, 2012

I am a big fan of Texas. I always meet nice people, I love how different it is from NYC, and it’s cheap!

I left NYC around 9:30 and was very proud of myself for packing breakfast to save money and be healthy!

When I took my bag off the baggage carousel the wheel broke off which sucks. My friend Alexis picked me up at the airport and we went to Kerby Lane Cafe for lunch.

Then we checked into the hotel and decided to walk down South Congress to do some shopping.

I got a 20 degrees milkshake from Amy’s. It was Mexican vanilla ice cream, home made hot cocoa mix, and vanilla whip cream. It was delicious!

I also bought this amazing tee shirt from Storyville

.

We got changed to go out and then headed to Iron Works for dinner.

This chili and beer cost me $8. Crazy! I love how Lone Star is the “national” beer of Texas.

We headed up to 6th St. to check out the music and bars and I have to say I was disappointed. It was still pretty early (9:30 or so), but the bars weren’t very full and the scene was very young and fratty.

We decided to walk back along South Congress and get cupcakes. The nice cupcake girl recommended a bar that had people mostly above 25 or 30 years old so we headed there. It was nice, we had a drink, and then headed back the hotel through the throngs of people.

I still love Texas, but I have to say I’m disappointed. I thought the scene would be a lot more about live music and less about $2 shots (EVERY bar had $2 shots). But it was still fun! And I have 2 more days to have fun in Austin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2012 1:30 am

    I lived in Austin for 15 yrs, miss it bunches, but 6th st. is always yound and fratty, although usually just blocks away (I’m thinking the Elephant Room, Miguels Bodega, if they are still around) are some really fine clubs for adults with specific tastes, showcasing world-class musicians. Gotta ask a local.

    • Maggie permalink*
      January 8, 2012 8:49 am

      Thanks, we did ask a local to find the bar we ended up liking. I figured we had to check out 6th st as tourists and now we know. I have 2 more nights here so I’ll look up your suggestions and talk to some locals!

Leave a comment