Skip to content

World Traveler

January 6, 2012

Tomorrow I leave for four days in Austin, TX, followed by four days in Puerto Rico.

I travel for work a few times each year. Two trips to Amarillo, TX, two trips to Austin, TX, and several road trips to New Jersey. It’s nice, but they’re quick, kind of frantic trips, to the same places again and again.

Lots of people tell me how lucky I am I get to travel for work. And I try very hard not to punch these people in the face. I am not complaining, I am lucky to see new places, to get out of the office, and to have a job for that matter, but these trips aren’t necessarily fun.

For my last trip, to Amarillo at the beginning of December, I flew out of NY at 12:30 on Wednesday, which meant I had to leave the office at 10:15. I landed in Dallas around 3pm Dallas time, which was early so luckily I had time to grab a drink. My flight to Amarillo took off around 5pm, I landed in Amarillo at 6pm, got my rental car, found somewhere to eat dinner, and made it to the hotel about 7pm. I ate, I did some things for my meeting the next day, and then went to bed around 10pm. My appointment Thursday morning was at 8:30 so I had to be there at 8:15 which meant I needed to be up at 7am to leave the hotel at 8am. I finished my appointment around 11:30, grabbed lunch, and then headed back to the airport for my 2pm flight. I landed in Dallas at 3pm, had to change terminals, grab dinner, and get to my gate for my 5pm flight. I landed back in NY at 9pm, and was home just before 10pm.

So that’s about 19 hours traveling and 17 hours actually in Amarillo, and 9 of those hours in Amarillo were spent sleep.

This trip I’m lucky. I’m visiting with a college friend in Austin so I arrive Saturday morning even though my appointment isn’t until Tuesday morning. I’ll have Saturday and Sunday to spend with my friend and then I pick up my coworker Monday afternoon and show her around Austin.

I then leave for Puerto Rico Tuesday afternoon, connect through Orlando, and then arrive in PR at midnight. I’m in conferences all day Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday morning, but then I’m staying until Saturday evening to do some exploring on my own.

I am lucky, for work I’ve been to Boston, St. Paul, MN, Phoenix, AR, Amarillo, TX (4 times), Austin, TX (2 times), Ann Arbor, MI, and Minneapolis, MN. Besides Boston I had never visited any of those cities before and I don’t know if I ever would have had any reason to visit. But ultimately they’re work trips. They’re quick, they’re busy, and they’re done on the cheap.

So you can tell me I’m so lucky, and it’s not that I disagree, but I still will want to punch you in the face.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

