Skip to content

Working It Out

January 4, 2012

After my run yesterday my knees started killing me. I’ve struggled with knee issues before so I think I’m going to take it easy on the running. Which is sad, because I really enjoy it, but there’s no point in doing it if it hurts.

I’m not renewing my kickboxing membership until I come back from Texas and Puerto Rico, so that left me with a hole in my workout routine this evening. So I decided to revisit an oldie but a goodie, Self’s Bikini Ready Fast.

I thought I started doing this DVD in college when I was first trying to lose weight but now I’m second-guessing myself and I’m thinking I bought it after college, on the recommendation of a friend. Regardless, when I first started doing it I used 3lb weights and thought it was impossible, eventually I moved up to 5lb weights, and then I stopped. When I picked up the DVD tonight I decided I’d try to use 8lb weights. And I did it (well, all but the last couple exercises) and it was freaking hard. But I feel so much stronger than I used to feel and that was pretty great.

When I first started using the DVD I don’t think I had ever attended a group fitness class so I never really thought much about the instructor, Ellen Barrett. Now, having attended many, many group fitness classes and having a much better idea of what makes a good and bad instructor, I have to say I really like Ellen.

She’s bubbly but not annoying, she explains things clearly, and she’s encouraging without being discouraging or mocking (am I the only one who feels like instructors are sometimes mocking me?). Once the workout ended I left the DVD running and discovered that Ellen gives some tips (which she seemed to be reading off a teleprompter, but whatever) that I thought were really great. She advised to ease into a workout routine, to not feel discouraged, and to go at your own pace. She also talked about healthy eating, putting down the term “diet” and encouraging a diet (meaning how we eat, not a fad) of moderation based on whole foods.

I grow tired of DVDs pretty quickly, but I’m glad I tried this one again and I will definitely keep it in mind for the future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

