Skip to content

My Hopes for 2012

January 1, 2012
tags:

I only half made resolutions for 2011. But, for the half that I made, I think I did pretty well.

Here’s a little recap of what I wanted to accomplish for 2011:

1. Lose 10lbs…FAIL. But in my ways to accomplish this goal I said I wanted to wake up early to go to the gym (which I did before I got sick for almost a month straight); take more classes at the gym (which I did, I averaged 2-3 class/week for most of the year); explore other fitness options (enter kickboxing); and improve my diet (miserable fail).

2. Pay off credit card debt and save money…KINDA: I paid off my credit card debt (and didn’t accumulate more), but I haven’t saved money. And I actually saved much more than I did prior to 2011, I just spend more from my savings later on. One of my ways to save money was to spend smarter, which I think I’ve done in general, but I continue to spend stupidly when it comes to going out for food and drink. I have to cut back there.

3. Be more social..SUCCESS. I’m a busy bee lately and although I sometimes still wish I knew more people in NYC I feel like I have a great group of friends and get to experience tons of fun and interesting things.

I then outlined several smaller goals:

– Donate blood (check, I even donated platelets once!)
– Become a bone marrow donor (fail)
– Taking class (fail, but I don’t know what this meant…)
– Take a vacation (fail)
– Get a passport (check)
– Verbalize what I want more (I feel I’ve done this, although there is still room for improvement)

So on to 2012…

I’m keeping my first two goals:

1. Lost the 10lbs I’ve gained since I was at my lowest weight. I will do this by continue going to kickboxing classes, going running, committing to working out while traveling, and by making smarter choices about what I eat.

2. Save money. I will reopen a separate savings account, stop using my credit card so much, and cut back on spending money on food and drinks.

And repeat and add some smaller goals:

– Continue to regularly donate blood
– Wear my contacts more often
– Become a bone marrow donor
– Learn to knit a sweater
– Clean out my purse and wallet each week
– Either take or plan a vacation

Here’s to 2012!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

