Skip to content

Happy New Year!

January 1, 2012

Happy New Year! My 2012 is off to a great start. I came back into NYC this morning. I had wanted to stay at my parents’ house another day, but my father wanted to have tomorrow to relax so he wanted me to come back today. As a consolation he let me drive in.

Once we got everything up to my apartment and out of the car I headed out for a run. It was a gorgeous day, breezy, but in the low-50s. I did 3 miles in just around 30 minutes and then immediately stripped off my long-sleeve running shirt, it was hot!

I spent the rest of the afternoon relaxing because I knew I was going to be in for an arduous cooking session in the evening. As part of my New Years resolutions I want to eat better and save money (thank you mom for buying my groceries!) so I made two big dishes to eat for lunches and dinners the rest of the week.

First, I made Eat Live Run’s hoppin’ john. I’ve never had black eyed peas on New Years (maybe I’ve never even had black eyed peas?) but they’re supposed to be good luck and the recipe sounded good so why not?

IMG_7841

I ate a bowl for dinner tonight and I thought it was great, although not particularly flavorful. I used garlic hummus instead of mayo (I don’t really like it and it upsets my stomach) which added a nice garlic flavor. And I didn’t have any cheese.

Next (well technically simultaneously) I made the Naughty & Nice Vegan Enchilada Casserole from Oh She Glows. It looks great (I haven’t had any yet), but god there were a lot of steps.

First I had to make the enchilada sauce.

IMG_7827

Then the taco seasoning.

IMG_7830

Then boil the pasta.

Then cut all the peppers and onion.

Then sautee the pepers and onion.

IMG_7834

Then cook everything together.

IMG_7837

And then bake it with the pasta.

IMG_7844

I hope it’s worth it! I didn’t have any cheese to add (vegan or otherwise) but I think it will still be good.

I missed my parents’ dogs begging for food while I was cooking. And I have to go do dishes so I miss their dishwasher.

Here’s a little piece of Christmas a week late, my parents’ tree all lit up at night:

IMG_7825

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

