Skip to content

The Year 2011

December 31, 2011
tags:

I’m not going to lie. I’ve been treating 2011 like an ugly stepchild. If I had to name the best year I’ve had, in my memory, it would be 2009. I feel like everything kind of came together in 2009 and it’s just been downhill from there.

But, in looking at pictures to write this post I realized I had a pretty rocking 2011. It was certainly backloaded (which makes my idea that it wasn’t good even more strange), but I did some amazing things and spent time with some amazing people.

JANUARY

IMG_4896

I went to the rodeo in Madison Square Garden. It wasn’t really the rodeo, it was something about bull riders. They prayed before they started. It was fantastic.

FEBRUARY

I got an iPhone. It changed my life.

MARCH

I went to the US vs. Argentina soccer game. And all I got was this shitty picture on my brand new iPhone.

I re-did my bedroom!

APRIL

IMG_5201

I went to see the Cherry Blossoms at the Brooklyn Botanical Garden for the first time (pretty crazy since I had been living in Brooklyn for 4 years).

IMG_5293

I throw a Royal Wedding party, complete with cupcakes my friend Laura and I made for a bake-off at work.

IMG_5302

Champagne at 5am before going to work to toast Will and Kate, what’s better?

MAY

IMG_0182

I ran a 5K, my first road race in over a year.

IMG_0226

I went wine tasting on Long Island.

JUNE

IMG_0264

I went to visit my friend Natalie in Cambridge.

IMG_0273

We went to see the USA vs. Spain soccer match and road the train with these crazy Spanish fans.

IMG_5636

The US lost. Shocking. Not.

IMG_0314

I attended my friend Elisa’s wedding celebration. And made fascinators with Laura for the occasion.

IMG_0343

As part of a work trip I drove from Amarillo, TX to Dallas, TX. It was like nothing I’d ever experienced and I loved every minute of it.

IMG_0368

In Dallas I went to visit the Texas Book Depository. Then I got really wasted and did things I probably shouldn’t have in downtown Dallas. But I had fun!

JULY

IMG_0420

I went bike riding on Governors Island.

IMG_0453

I paid my second visit to Portland, OR to visit my grandparents, uncle, aunt, and cousins. I went on an amazing Brew Bus tour.

IMG_0473

I also visited the Spruce Goose while in OR.

IMG_0537

And Fort Vancouver.

AUGUST

IMG_0605

I took my second trip to Austin, TX. And experienced the hottest weather I hope to ever experience.

IMG_6138

I also did a self-curated Friday Night Lights tour. It was one of the highlights of my year.

IMG_0640

I went back to Governors Island and went swinging.

IMG_0669

And visited a Civil War reenactment on Governors Island.

cointoss

Ashley and I took our second trip to the Western and Southern Open in Cincinnati. And got to do our second coin toss.

IMG_6189

I got some great photos.

IMG_6208

And some less great ones.

IMG_6481

And probably the best tennis photo I’ve ever taken. (Total mistake)

IMG_0792

We had an earthquake in NYC.

IMG_6987

I attended the US Open (duh)

IMG_6989

I really like this photo.

IMG_7225

Hello Giles, that was a great 5-set match.

IMG_7446

Poor Flavia lost.

SEPTEMBER

IMG_0886

I went to a party and 7 World Trade Center and saw the most spectacular views.

IMG_0909

And very sad views.

IMG_0947

I attended my fourth Vendy Awards.

IMG_0977

I went to the Black Eyed Peas concert in Central Park.

IMG_0990

Where I got completely soaked.

IMG_1003

I started taking kickboxing classes (the only photo I could find to demonstrate this was this one of the bruises on my shin from kickboxing).

OCTOBER

IMG_1005

I went to a screening of Martin Scorcese’s George Harrison documentary at HBO headquarters.

I went to the Sheep and Wool Festival in upstate NY.

IMG_0873

I won my company’s Darth Paper origami competition.

I visited my Alma Mater.

I saw my college roommate get married in an absolutely gorgeous ceremony.

And got to catch up with great college friends.

I was a Macy’s balloon handler for Halloween.

NOVEMBER

I blew my vuvuzela at the NY Marathon.

I marched in my second Macy*s Thanksgiving Day Parade (with the Wimpy Kid balloon, not with Buzz :()

DECEMBER

I paid another visit to Amarillo, TX

I made a pin the heart on the Grinch game for me and my roommate’s Christmas party.

I attended my 5th holiday party at my company!

I made Ugly Christmas sweaters with Amy based on the Hallmark snowmen my mother buys me.

My family paid our annual Christmas Eve visit to the Montauk Lighthouse.

I made my family’s traditional Christmas tree cake.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

