Skip to content

You Better Run for Your Life

December 28, 2011

Running and I have a complicated relationship. In the spring of 2009 my friend Laura and I decided to do the Couch to 5K program. We finished it during the summer and I ran my first 5K in August of 2009. After that I was hooked on running. In the fall of 2009 my ankle started swelling (it wasn’t painful) and I went to see a doctor who told me my leg muscles were too tight and were squeezing on the tendon and that I shouldn’t run.

I did physical therapy for a while, decided it was a waste, and went back to running. And my ankle never swelled again (KNOCK ON WOOD). I ran a 10-mile race in February 2010 and a half marathon in April 2010. It was fully my intention to keep running, but my knees started bothering me, the summer got really hot, and I stopped.

I started running again in the fall of 2010, ran for about 2 months, worked myself back up to 5 miles at a time, grew bored and stopped. I picked up running again in spring 2011 and ran about twice a week until August 2011 (I even ran another 5K).

Once I started taking kickboxing classes this past September running didn’t really fit into my schedule. But a few weeks ago I had the urge the run, so one Sunday I just went. And, to my surprise, I ran 3 miles without stopping. I ran again a week and a half later and again did 3 miles without stopping. Since I’m at my parents’ house for the Christmas break the only cardio I can really do is running. I went running the day after Christmas and I felt like a slow, slow person full of chicken, mashed potatoes, and cake.

I went running today and I felt great. I ran the fasted 3 miles I’ve run since July.

Although I did take two picture breaks. Running by my parents’ is really pretty (and deserted).

I really like that I can see a smidge of water (when I went onto someone’s private property).

And I also really like this cemetery.

If you can’t read it this guy died in 1860 at 88 years old (may we all be so lucky!).

He lived to be 72, 1 month, and 17 days.

I think this is my favorite monument. It says this gentlemen was a soldier of the American Revolution. Pretty cool.

As far as I can tell there’s no gate to get into the cemetery. I’d love to have a closer look at the graves. Maybe I should climb through the fence one day?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

